Local authorities

The UK is divided up into 326 Local Authority districts, each with its own council. There are many different forms of local government: London boroughs; metropolitan districts; unitary authorities and non-metropolitan districts in England; unitary authorities in Wales; council areas in Scotland and district council areas in Northern Ireland. 

Mapping by local authority district

Any issues determined by the local government will work for a map of this kind. It is great for comparing differences between Local Authority districts across the UK, or as a tool for helping gain the attention of your local councillor by showing how an issue affects their area.

Local authorities are also a good source of data for mapping, via Freedom of Information requests.

PoliMapper local authority maps

Check out examples of our local authority maps below:


British Cream Tea Association: Local Authority map